Learn what you need and how much it costs to renew your Washington driver license.
Before you get started
Is your address current?
Your home address is on your license. If it has changed, update your address with us before you renew.
Other ways to renew your driver license
If you don't want to renew your license online, you have other options.
Renew by mail if you got a letter from us.
You must renew in person at a driver licensing office if you:
- Are 70+ years old
- Need to pass the vision screening
- Need a new photo taken
- Renewed online on your last expiration
When can I renew my driver license?
You can renew up to:
- 1 year before your license expires (it usually expires on your birthday), or
- Up to 8 years after the expiration date
Note: If your license expired less than 60 days before the day you renew it, we won't charge a late fee. However, you could get a ticket or fine from law enforcement.
If your license expired:
- More than 60 days ago, there's an extra $10 fee to renew
- 8 years ago, you can't renew and will need to start over (Learn about getting your first license and what we accept as proof of identity)
- There is no grace period for expired out-of-state licenses
For military personnel
Your license remains valid as long as you're on active duty and for 90 days after you're discharged from active duty. You don't need to renew during the term of your military service if you're:
- A member of the armed forces or National Guard on active duty
- A reservist called to duty for 180 days or more
- The spouse or dependent of an active member of the military
Fees for renewing your driver license
A standard license costs $9 per year to renew. You may renew for 6 ($55) or 8 years ($73). We calculate your driver licensing fees based on:
- Your endorsements
- Whether you're upgrading to or renewing an Enhanced Driver License (EDL)
- Whether you're renewing late
- Whether you choose the 6- or 8-year renewal option
- A $1 technology fee, already included in the pricing above
What if I haven't received my driver license yet?
Or visit your nearest driver licensing office.
Are you a twin or triplet?
When you get your driver license or ID card, we may ask if you're a twin or triplet. Answering this question is voluntary.
We share this information with the Washington State Twin Registry. The Registry will contact you and ask if you'd like to join the Twin Registry. Learn more about the program on the Washington State Twin Registry website.
If you receive a renewal notice or other correspondence for someone who's deceased
You can ignore the notice or send us a copy of the death certificate using the method that works best for you:
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9030
Olympia, WA 98507
The county medical examiner or coroner will issue a death certificate. The Department of Health will notify us, but this can take several months. As soon as we receive the notice, we'll update the deceased person's record. This should stop all future correspondence.
You don't have to return the person's license or ID card. You can keep it as a memento or discard it.