New law raises plate fees starting July 1, 2022

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

How to become a motorcycle safety examiner or instructor

Examiner requirements

You must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Have a current, valid driver license or state identification card.
  • Have no disqualifying convictions.

Instructor requirements

You must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Have a current, valid driver license for a minimum of 3 years.
  • Have a current and valid motorcycle endorsement for the curriculum you want to teach.
  • Have an acceptable driving record.
  • Have no disqualifying convictions.
  • Have certification in a WMSP approved curriculum.
  • Be certified in basic first aid.

What you'll need

  • A SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account to apply online.
  • Signed copy of Examiner and Instructor Professional Standards.
  • Front and back copy of your current driver license or state identification card.
  • Proof of curriculum certification(s) (Instructors Only)

How to apply

You can apply online.

Apply online

After we've received your application:

  • We'll review and process your application. This can take up to 10 business days. For questions, email motorcycle@dol.wa.gov.
  • We'll notify you when we approve your application.

For veterans, military personnel, and partners

Your military experience or training might help you meet licensing requirements. You may also be able to get a temporary license if you're moving here with a current license from another state. For more information visit military assistance.

If you're a U.S. veteran, you may be eligible for partial reimbursement of your fees. For more information, visit Get paid back for test fees.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Email us: motorcycle@dol.wa.gov

Chatbot icon
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website