How to renew your license: Real estate brokers and managing brokers

We have a new online service for managing professional and business licenses. Learn how to set up account access. If you need help with the new service, please contact your professional licensing program.

We expect a processing delay for mailed applications and renewals. Renew or apply online for faster processing of your license. Thank you for your patience and we apologize for any inconvenience.

Things to know

  • License expires every 2 years
  • You can renew 120 days before your license expires
  • Fingerprint based background check results expire every 6 years
    • To renew, active or inactive, the results on file must be current
  • License renewal and fingerprint renewal notices are emailed separately
    • Keep your email on file up-to-date
  • Reminders are also posted in "Your To-do's" on your home page when you login
  • To receive updates and alerts, sign up for our listserv

Before you renew

  • Complete your continuing education requirements. (You won’t need to upload proof of your education unless your renewal notice states you have randomly been chosen for audit.)
  • Be ready to answer legal background questions and provide documents if needed.
  • Submit a new fingerprint based background check, if needed
    • Visit fingerprinting and background checks for information on how to submit your fingerprints.
    • When you login, there will be a fingerprint reminder if the results are within 60 days of expiring on the home page. The renewal reminder and renewal button will not appear if the results are expired.

What you'll need

  • A SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account to apply online.

How to renew

You can renew online or by mail.

Renew online

  • Create or use your SAW account to renew and pay your fees online.
  • If your background results have expired, a reminder will appear under the "Your To-do's" box on our system's home page. When results are current, the renewal reminder and renewal button will appear.

Start renewal

Renew by mail

  • Complete a Real Estate License Renewal form and mail to:
    Real Estate Licensing
    Department of Licensing
    PO Box 3856
    Seattle, WA 98124-3856
  • Expect a minimum of 21 days for us to process mailed in renewals.

Continuing education requirements

When you renew, you must certify online that you have completed all the required continuing education:

Active renewals
Renewal type Required continuing education
Real estate brokers
First active renewal
(WAC 308–124A–785)
  • At least 90 hours, including:
    • 30-hour Advanced Practices Course
    • 30-hour Real Estate Law Course
    • 3-hour Current Issues in Washington Residential Real Estate Course
    • At least 27 hours other approved continuing education
  • The hours must be started after the date of first licensure
Real estate brokers
Subsequent active renewals
(WAC 308–124A–790)
  • At least 30 hours, including:
    • 3-hour Current Issues in Washington Residential Real Estate Course
    • At least 27 hours other approved continuing education
  • At least 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date
  • You may also use up to 15 hours of unused continuing education completed within 48 months of your renewal date
Managing brokers
All active renewals
(WAC 308–124A–790)
  • At least 30 hours, including:
    • 3-hour Current Issues in Washington Residential Real Estate Course
    • At least 27 hours other approved continuing education
  • At least 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date
  • You may also use up to 15 hours of unused continuing education completed within 48 months of your renewal date
  • The hours must be started after the date of first licensure as a managing broker
Inactive renewals
Renewal type Required continuing education
Brokers or managing brokers
  • No continuing education required to renew an inactive license.
  • To activate your license, you may have to meet the education requirements for an active license. Email realestate@dol.wa.gov to find out if you need to complete education before applying to activate your license.

Visit the course search for a list of approved continuing education courses.

Questions? Need help?

Chatbot icon
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website