Reciprocity: How to get licensed in Washington
Who needs a license?
Anyone who acts on behalf of a real estate firm to perform real estate brokerage services under the supervision of a managing broker. We have 2 levels of licensure: Broker and Managing Broker. You can apply for the same or lesser level as what you currently hold in another state or jurisdiction.
To qualify you must:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Have been actively licensed in another state, in good standing, within the preceding 6 months.
- Request and be ready to upload a License History from one state in which you have a license. The state might call it a Certificate of History or a License Affidavit. License histories have the following:
- The state’s agency heading.
- Dates that a license is or has been active within the last 6 months.
- The licensure level.
- Expiration date.
- Any disciplinary action.
- How you obtained the license.
- Creation date of the history.
- Note: We'll deny any application that doesn't include a License History document. We won't accept copies of licenses or screen shots of websites.
- Fingerprint background check results on file.
- Results take 14 business days to appear in our system.
- Washington resident: Visit IdentoGO to schedule an appointment through Idemia.
- Outside Washington: See how to submit your fingerprints from outside Washington State.
- See fees and more information on fingerprinting.
- Documents ready to upload for the legal background questions, if needed.
How to apply for the exam
You can apply online.
- Login or sign up to start your application.
- Learn how to set up account access.
- Approval expires at 6 months. If you don’t pass within the 6 months, you can apply again providing a new, current license history.
- The state exam is about the laws and rules regulating real estate licensing.
How to schedule an exam
- We’ll email you with your approval number and directions on how to schedule. Wait 4 business days after getting the email from us before trying to schedule your exam.
- Schedule your exam online or by phone at 855.746.8168. To schedule online:
- Visit PSI Candidate Services.
- Complete the 3 fields:
- Real Estate
- Washington Real Estate Examination Program
- Select the correct examination type:
- Broker Reciprocity Exam
- Managing Broker Reciprocity Examination
- See PSI's Candidate Handbook if you need to request accommodations.
- To take an exam out of state, fill out an Out of State Examinations Waiver and Release form and submit it to PSI.
- Select "Register for this exam" when you are ready.
How to apply for license after exam passed
- Receive notification from us that passing exam results are on file.
- Have documents ready to upload for the legal background questions if needed.
- Login or sign up to start your application. You must use Google Chrome set as the default browser and allow pop-ups.
- Learn how to set up account access and navigate the system.
- If you don’t see the “Your To-Do’s” section on the Home Page:
- Don’t apply for license if you don’t see the “Apply for License” button in the “Your To-do’s” section. We haven’t received your exam results yet.
- If you see a reminder to submit fingerprints and you already did, then we haven’t received results yet. It can take 14 business days to reach us from WSP. You can’t proceed until they are on file.
- If it’s been more than 14 business days since you submitted your fingerprints and more than 4 business days since you passed your exam(s) and the Your To-Do’s is still missing, contact us at email@example.com.
- Please send 1 email only!
- Include the TCN number issued by IdentoGo and the date submitted.
- When you see the “Your To-Do’s” section with an “Apply for License” button, click the button to apply.
- Don’t use any other button outside of the Your To-Do’s section. They are for exam applications.
- Pay your fees online.
- You must pay both the licensure fee and the $10 research fee. If you uncheck either fee, we won’t issue you a license until you have paid in full.
- After you get your license, a firm can invite you to join them to activate your license. You must log-in to accept their invitation.
- See directions on how to print your license.
- Your broker's license will expire 2 years after it's issued.
- The fingerprint background check results will expire 6 years from the date we receive them.
- Be sure to re-submit prints before they expire. Allow enough time for us to get your results.
- If your results expire you won’t be able to:
- Join a firm.
- Re-activate after being inactive.
- Renew your license.
For veterans, military personnel, and partners
Your military experience or training might help you meet licensing requirements. You may also be able to get a temporary license if you're moving here with a current license from another state. For more information visit military assistance.
If you're a U.S. veteran, you may be eligible for partial reimbursement of your fees. For more information, visit.