Find out if you need to report a collision, how to file a report, and what collision information goes on your driving record.
Who files the collision report?
If a law enforcement officer investigates the collision:
- The investigating officer will file a collision report.
- You don't need to file one.
If no law enforcement officer investigates the collision:
- Each driver involved in the collision must submit a report within 4 days of the collision.
- Submit a report online or get collision report forms from your local police department, county sheriff's office, or Washington State Patrol district office.
Collision information included on a driving record
In any collisions where there was bodily injury or at least $1,000 in property damage to any one person's property, the following information is added to the driving record of all drivers involved:
- The collision date
- The number of vehicles involved
- Whether the vehicles were moving or not
- Whether the collision resulted in any injury or fatality
- Accident report number
This information only indicates the person was involved in a collision, not who caused it.
How to report uncompensated damages from a collision with an uninsured driver
If an uninsured driver fails to pay collision damages, you may report it to us by completing a Motor Vehicle Claim for Damages within 180 days of the collision.
- The collision must have resulted in at least $1,000 in property damages or an injury.
- Requests must contain copies of estimates and receipts to support what is being reported.
- Requests without the required supporting documentation will not be processed.
- If the uninsured driver fails to pay, we may suspend their driver license.
How to get a copy of a collision report
If you would like a copy of the collision report you or a law enforcement officer completed, you may request a copy from Washington State Patrol.