UPDATE

Get answers to your questions about essential businesses.
More extensions for some expiring driver licenses.
Vehicle and boat licensing services may vary across the state.

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

CDL disqualifications: Committing 2 or more serious traffic offenses arising from separate incidents within a 3-year period of time

What are serious traffic offenses?

  • Speeding 15 miles per hour or more above the posted limit.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Any traffic violation, other than parking violations, that results in a fatal accident or collision.
  • Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a commercial driver license or without the proper endorsement.
  • Negligent driving.
  • Following too closely.
  • Failing to stop.
  • Failing to yield the right of way.
  • Driving too fast for conditions.
  • Improper lane change or travel.
  • Improper overtaking on the right or left.
  • Improper driving to the left of center of the roadway.
  • Texting while driving a commercial motor vehicle
  • Using a cell phone while driving a commercial motor vehicle

Do offenses in non-commercial vehicles count?

Offenses in both non-commercial and commercial vehicles count, but the offenses that trigger the disqualification involve a commercial vehicle, or a conviction of reckless driving in either vehicle.

How long will my license be disqualified?

  • 2 serious traffic offenses: 60 days
  • 3 serious traffic offenses: 120 days

How do I re-qualify?

  • Once the disqualification is released, visit a driver licensing office location for a new CDL. If you:
    • don't, your CDL is invalid.
    • haven't held a CDL for 1 year or more, you'll need to complete all the steps to getting a CDL.
  • For a hazardous materials endorsement, pass a separate knowledge test.
  • Pay a $35 re-qualification fee.

Can I appeal the disqualification?

You may request an administrative review.

Related laws

Questions? Need help?

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website