Training requirements: CDL

Drivers are no longer required to get a Skills Test Results form from a Driver Licensing Office. The process for skills test scheduling and training certificate submission has changed as of April 30, 2018.

Minimum training requirements

Training requirements aren't required for CDL upgrades, agribusiness CDL, or driver getting a Military waiver. They're required if you're getting your first CDL, removing an agribusiness restriction, or if you haven't held a CDL for 1 year or more for any reason except license expiration and want to get it again.

You can get a training certificate from an approved school or registered employer. Approved schools are required to follow minimum training requirements. Below is the minimum training required by an approved school:

Class of CDL Minimum training required
Class A 160 total hours, including at least:
  • 40 hours — classroom instruction
  • 18 hours — street driving training
  • 16 hours — training in backing maneuvers
  • 16 hours — proficiency development
  • 70 hours — combined lab training, range training, and observation
Class B 48 total hours, including at least:
  • 20 hours — classroom instruction
  • 14 hours — street driving training
  • 4 hours — training in backing maneuvers
  • 4 hours — proficiency development
  • 6 hours — combined lab training, range training, and observation
Class C 36 total hours, including at least:
  • 20 hours — classroom instruction
  • 8 hours — street driving training
  • 2 hours — training in backing maneuvers
  • 2 hours — proficiency development
  • 4 hours — combined lab training, range training, and observation

After your training is complete you'll get your training certificate. Be sure your training certificate has been approved by us prior to taking a skills test. If it's not, you must take the skills test again.

Who's exempt from minimum training requirements?

Registered Employer

If your registered employer agrees you have the skills and training to drive a commercial vehicle safely, they can complete and sign an employer training certificate.

Drivers with military truck driver training

If you operated a CDL while in the military, you may be eligible to get a CDL using the Military Commercial Drivers License Skills Test Waiver. This waiver excluded passenger and school bus endorsements.

To find out if you're eligible and learn how to get a military waiver, see Military experience waiver.

Agribusiness

You may get a restricted CDL without meeting the minimum training requirements if you drive a commercial vehicle only for agribusiness purposes and we approve your Agribusiness Commercial Driver License Minimum Training Requirements Exemption Application. When you get your CDL, we'll add a restriction that only allows you to drive an agribusiness commercial vehicle. To remove this restriction, you must submit training certificate from an approved school or registered employer. For more information, see Agribusiness.

Questions? Need help?

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website