UPDATE

90-day extensions for some expiring driver licenses.
All driver licensing offices statewide are closed temporarily. Please go online.
Get guidance on business and landlord compliance with statewide orders.

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

Do I need an endorsement?

Due to the Governor's "Stay Home – Stay Healthy" proclamation, all motorcycle training and testing is currently canceled. This will remain in effect until the order is lifted.

To legally ride in Washington, you must have a 2-wheel motorcycle or 3-wheel sidecar/trike:

  • Endorsement on your driver license.
  • or
  • Motorcycle instruction permit to learn how to ride on public roadways.
Endorsement options
If you have a… You…
2-wheel motorcycle or scooter that:
  • Is larger than 50cc
  • or
  • Can go faster than 30 mph
Need a 2-wheel endorsement
2-wheel motorcycle or scooter that:
  • Is 50cc or smaller
  • and
  • Has a maximum speed of 30 mph
Don't need an endorsement
2-wheel motorcycle or scooter with a stabilizing conversion kit installed. Need a 3-wheel endorsement
Motorcycle with a sidecar Need a 3-wheel endorsement
3-wheel trike Need a 3-wheel endorsement
3-wheel vehicle with a seating area, safety belts, and a steering wheel Don't need an endorsement

If you ride without the proper endorsement or permit, you may be fined $386 and your motorcycle, scooter, or trike may be impounded.

Related laws

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Contact us

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website