Renew your driver license
REAL ID Act
Starting July 1, 2018, all standard cards will be marked with language to indicate they're not valid for federal identification purposes. You may continue to use your marked or unmarked standard card for boarding airplanes and accessing secure federal facilities until October 1, 2020. Enhanced driver licenses and ID cards meet federal Real ID requirements and won't be marked.
Save a trip, skip the line, save some time!
Find out if you're able to renew your license online? Start an online renewal to find out.
You'll need to renew at a driver licensing office if you:
- Are under 24 or over 70+ years
- Need to pass the vision screening
- Need a new photo taken
You have 2 options to renew:
- Online through License eXpress (some restrictions may apply).
- Visit a driver licensing office. Be prepared to wait in line. See Tips for visiting an office: Driver licensing offices.
Is your address up-to-date?
Your residence address is on your license, make sure it's updated. If needed, please change your address before you renew.
When can I renew?
You can renew up to:
- 1 year before your license expires. It usually expires on your birthday.
- 60 days after it's expired. We won’t charge a late fee, but you could be penalized by law enforcement.
For military personnel
You don't need to renew during the term of your military service if you're:
- A member of the armed forces or National Guard on active duty.
- A reservist called to duty for 180 days or more.
- The spouse or dependent of an active member of the military.
Your license remains valid as long as you're on active duty. For more information, see Military personnel.
If your license has been expired over:
Your license fee is $9 per year. Renewal periods can be for 2-6 years. So if your license is for 6 years, your fee is $9 x 6 years = $54.
What if I haven't received my driver license yet?
If you don't get it after 30 days, email us CustomerCare@dol.wa.gov.
Are you a twin or triplet?
When you get your driver license or ID card, we may ask if you’re a twin or triplet. Answering this question is strictly voluntary.
We share this information with the Washington State Twin Registry. The Registry will contact you and ask if you’d like to join the Twin Registry. Learn more about the program on the Washington State Twin Registry website.
I received a renewal notice or other correspondence for someone who's deceased, what should I do?
You can ignore the notice or send us a copy of the death certificate by:
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Fax: 360.570.7034
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9030
Olympia, WA 98507
The death certificate is issued by the county medical examiner or coroner. After it's issued, the Department of Health notifies us - this can take several months. As soon as we receive the notice, we'll update their record. This should stop all future correspondence.
You don't have to return the person's license or ID card. You can keep it as a memento if you wish or discard it.
Questions? Need help?