We're upgrading our systems to better secure your information. All vehicle and driver licensing offices will be closed August 31 – September 3, 2018. Some online services will be affected before and during the new system launch. We encourage you to complete your transactions now, in our offices or online.

Replace your license or instruction permit

REAL ID Act

Starting July 1, 2018, all standard cards will be marked with language to indicate they're not valid for federal identification purposes. You may continue to use your marked or unmarked standard card for boarding airplanes and accessing secure federal facilities until October 1, 2020. Enhanced driver licenses and ID cards meet federal Real ID requirements and won't be marked.

Things to know

For $20, you can replace a lost, stolen, or damaged license or instruction permit.

  • You'll get your replacement in 2-4 weeks. If you haven't received it after 30 days, email: CustomerCare@dol.wa.gov.
  • We'll mail it to the address we have on file. If it needs to be updated, change your address first. Licenses and ID cards can't be forwarded to a new address.
  • It'll have the same horizontal or vertical format and photo as the one you're replacing.
    • Exception: If you had a vertical card and you’re 21 we’ll replace it with a horizontal format.

Overview

  • You must be over 18.
  • Other restrictions may apply. See below.
  • Your temporary license/ID won't include your photo and can't be used for identification.

You have 2 options to replace your license or permit online:

License eXpress/online restrictions

You can't get a replacement online if:

  • It expires within 3 months, please renew it instead
  • Your license or permit isn't valid
  • You've replaced it in the last 12 months
  • You're under 18 years old
  • You need to replace a commercial driver license (CDL)
  • You moved out of state
  • You changed your name from what's printed on your license
  • Your record shows you have any of the following:
    • A dishonored check
    • Unpaid traffic fines
    • Unpaid reissuance fee
    • A suspension
    • A revocation
    • A cancellation

Fee payment options

We offer payment options depending on if you're using our online services or visiting a driver licensing office. We don't accept gift cards as a payment option.

Pay with your: For online services For licensing office
American Express – credit/debit Yes Yes – at most offices*
Discover – credit/debit No Yes – at most offices*
MasterCard – credit/debit Yes Yes – at most offices*
Visa – credit/debit Yes Yes – at most offices*
Cash or check No Yes

*A vendor fee is added to in-office credit/debit card payments. If you don't want to pay the vendor fee, pay with cash/check or use our online options.

These offices only accept cash/check: Coulee Dam, Davenport, Friday Harbor, Forks, Goldendale, Newport, Republic, and South Bend.

Other options to replace your card:

Note: Your temporary won't include your photo and can't be used for identification.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website