Learn how to get your concealed pistol license (CPL) and see what fees are required.
What to know
You will need to visit your local law enforcement agency (LEA) to apply for the license in person; you are unable to get your license online. Some law enforcement agencies also can possibly provide the option to renew online, but you will need to contact your local LEA to see if this is a service they provide.
Law enforcement agencies run background checks and issue concealed pistol licenses. DOL is the record keeper for firearms information and this data is available to LEAs or correctional agencies only.
You must be 21 years old to get a CPL. You are required to have a CPL if you:
- Carry a pistol concealed on your person.
- Have a loaded pistol in your vehicle.
You won’t qualify for a CPL if you:
- Have a revoked concealed pistol license.
- Are subject to a court order or injunction concerning the possession of firearms.
- Are free on bond or personal recognizance while awaiting trial, appeal, or sentencing for a felony offense.
- Have an outstanding warrant for your arrest for a felony or misdemeanor.
- Were ordered to forfeit a firearm within the last 12 months.
- Were convicted of a felony. To restore your rights, contact the courts where your conviction is or the superior court where you live.
How to apply
- Call or check the website of your local LEA and verify you live in their jurisdiction. If so, ask for a Concealed Pistol License Application.
- You will need a valid state driver license or ID.
- If you are a permanent resident alien, bring your permanent resident card.
- If you have an alien firearms license, bring your original passport and US‑issued alien number or admission number.
- If applicable, bring your original certificate of rehabilitation or firearms restoration orders.
- Pay licensing fees with cash or check/money order payable to the law enforcement agency.
- LEA will complete the fingerprints and a background check.
Your license is valid for 5 years from the date it is issued.
Where to apply
|If you live||Apply at|
|In an unincorporated area of a county in Washington||Your county sheriff's office|
|In an incorporated city or town in Washington||Your city/town police department or your county sheriff’s office|
|Outside of Washington (not a Washington state resident)||Any local law enforcement agency (police department or sheriff’s office) in Washington State|
If your license is lost, denied, or revoked
Call or visit the website of your LEA where you applied for your license. They will instruct you on where to go, what to bring, and the fees to get a replacement license.
- Concealed pistol license - Application - Fee - Renewal (RCW 9.41.070)
- Carrying firearms (RCW 9.41.050)
- Unlawful possession of firearms - Ownership, possession by certain persons - Restoration of right to possess - Penalties (RCW 9.41.040)
- Concealed pistol license - Revocation (RCW 9.41.075)
- Restoration of possession rights (RCW 9.41.047)
- Public Records Act (RCW 42.56.240)
- Attorney General Office (atg.wa.gov) to see states with firearms reciprocity.
- Fill out the Firearms Record Certification Request for information on your firearm record.
- Firearms Safety, Suicide Awareness, The Law, and You
- Suicide Prevention Community-based Services Grant Account (DVA)