Learn how to get a license to run a private security guard company.
Who needs a license?
Any business that provides security guard services on contract.
How to apply
1. Meet the requirements
To get a private security company guard company license, all company owners, partners, or qualifying agents must:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Be a United States citizen or resident alien
- Have 3 years of experience as a manager, supervisor, or administrator in the private security business, a related field, or pass an exam
- Have a physical business within Washington
- Have a valid business license with the Department of Revenue
Gather the required documents
You must have a certificate of liability insurance with at least $25,000 of bodily injury coverage and $25,000 of property damage coverage.
2. Submit fingerprints
All company owners, partners, or qualifying agents must submit fingerprints for state and national background checks.
- Inside Washington: Schedule an appointment through Identogo, our electronic fingerprinting vendor. You'll pay a fee for the fingerprinting service and background checks required for your license type.
- Outside Washington: Please contact your local law enforcement agency to complete the fingerprint submission process.
For more details, read about fingerprinting and background checks.
3. Submit your application
You can apply online or by mail.
Apply for your license online
You'll receive your license faster by applying and paying online.
Don't have a SAW account? Learn how to create a SAW account.
Apply for your license by mail
Mail your completed Private Security Guard Company/Qualifying Principal License Application form, certificate of liability insurance, and a check or money order for the application fee (payable to the Department of Licensing) to:
Private Security Guard Program
Department of Licensing
PO Box 35001
Seattle, WA 98124-3401
Get email updates
Subscribe to our mailing list to get the latest rule changes and licensing updates by email.