New law raises plate fees starting July 1, 2022
Tracked all-terrain vehicle (Tracked ATV) is any wheeled all-terrain vehicle (WATV):
The owner of a WATV, when properly converted as a tracked ATV, may apply for a snowmobile registration. A snowmobile is a self-propelled vehicle capable of traveling over snow. A snowmobile has the following features:
Go to a vehicle licensing office to title and register your WATV within 15 days of purchase. Otherwise penalty fees will apply. You'll get a:
We don't issue titles for snowmobiles but you do need to register them. If you bought a snowmobile that is already registered, you must transfer it into your name within 10 days of taking possession of it.
Visit a vehicle licensing office if you modified a WATV that was already registered. If you plan to use the WATV converted to a Tracked ATV you may need to fill out a TATV Declaration form. Submit it along with the items listed below.
What you need to submit:
You must renew your decals and registration by October 1 for the following year.
If you skipped a renewal year and want to renew for the next year that's coming up make sure you renew on October 1. Otherwise you'll be renewing for the year you skipped. Snowmobile registration period is from October 1 through September 30 of the following year. Registration fees aren't prorated.
Snowmobiles and snow bikes are issued 2 decals in place of license plates.
Affix the decals and tabs to the TATV as follows:
Snowmobiles manufactured 30 or more years ago are considered vintage. Owners:
The following snowmobiles aren't subject to annual registration:
When a snowmobile comes from a jurisdiction that doesn't register snowmobiles, it qualifies for a nonresident temporary snowmobile permit from the first day of use in Washington. Out of state snowmobiles may get a permit for no more than 60 consecutive days. Snowmobiles located in Washington for more than 60 consecutive days must be fully registered in Washington.
To apply for the permit, visit a local vehicle licensing office and submit a Non-resident snowmobile application and pay all applicable fees.
Washington doesn't issue titles for snowmobiles. If you want to put a lien on a snowmobile, contact our Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) section for specific instructions and application. Security interests are registered with our UCC section and won't be recorded on the snowmobile registration.