How to renew your license: Cosmetology instructor
Temporary change to renewal requirements for cosmetology licensing
Learn more about a new law that helps cosmetology licensees affected by the COVID-19 pandemic
Things to know
- License expires every 2 years.
- You can renew 120 days before your license expires.
- There will be a late fee if you don't renew before it expires.
- If your license has been expired for more than 1 year, it's canceled and you must reapply.
- We consider you unlicensed if your license expires or gets canceled. You can receive a fine for engaging in unlicensed activity.
Before you renew
- Be ready to answer the legal background questions and provide explanations if needed.
What you'll need
- Your license number
- Visa, MasterCard, or American Express credit or debit card to pay renewal fee
- A SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account to renew online.
Renew by mail
- Follow the instructions on your renewal letter.
- No renewal letter? Submit the appropriate fees with a completed Instructor of Cosmetology, Hair Design, Barber, Manicurist, Esthetician, or Master Esthetician License, Renewal, or Reciprocity Application (check the "Renewal" box).
Reinstate your license
If your license has been expired for more than 1 year, you must reapply for a license. To reapply, submit a completed Instructor of Cosmetology, Hair Design, Barber, Manicurist, Esthetician, or Master Esthetician License, Renewal, or Reciprocity Application (check the "Reinstatement" box).
When will I get my license?
We won't mail your license unless you request a printed copy. Your license is available to print online.
If you renewed online
- We'll process your request within 14 business days. It will be available to print online at any time.
- Check your email for notifications about your license.
- See how to self-print your license.
If you renewed by mail
- We'll process your request within 45 business days and send a copy of your license to the email address listed on the application.
- You can print your license online at any time. See how to self-print your license
Get a printed license by mail
- To get a printed license when applying by mail, you must send the license print fee with your application.
- To request a printed copy of your license, send us the following information:
- Mailing address
- Email address
- Phone number
- License type
- License number
- Check or money order for the license print fee, payable to Department of Licensing
- Mail to:
Department of Licensing
PO Box 3856
Seattle, WA 98124-3856
If you have a license in another state
We only renew Washington state licenses. To renew your license in another state, please contact the licensing board in that state for instructions. See the NIC website for a list of U.S. licensing boards.
Subscribe to email updates to get the latest rule changes, licensing updates, and board notices by email.
- How to renew your license: Cosmetologist, barber, manicurist, esthetician
- How to renew your license: Salon/shop, personal service, mobile unit
- How to renew your license: Cosmetology school
- How to renew your license: Permanent cosmetic artists