How to get your license: Managing brokers
We will not process applications or renewals from June 19 through June 28.
Our new online Professional and Business Licensing service launches June 29. Using our new online service is the quickest way to get your license. We expect a delay in processing mailed applications and renewals.
Who needs a license?
Any person who acts on behalf of a real estate firm to perform real estate brokerage services under the supervision of a designated broker, and who may supervise other brokers or managing brokers licensed to the firm.
To qualify for a managing broker's license, you must:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Provide proof you have at least 3 years of full-time experience as an active real estate broker, or other qualifying experience as described in WAC 308-124A-713.
- Successfully complete 90 hours of approved real estate education within 3 years before applying for the exam. This education must include:
- 30 hours of brokerage management
- 30 hours of business management
- 30 hours of advanced real estate law
- The real estate education requirements will be waived for qualified managing broker applicants currently licensed as a managing broker in another state.
- Be ready to answer legal background questions and provide documents if needed.
- Pass the managing broker's Exam.
For a list of approved real estate education, see the Real Estate Education Course Catalog.
Before you apply
- If you are licensed in another state:
- Request the broker's exam by submitting a certified license history from the real estate licensing agency in the state where you're currently licensed to:
- After we've reviewed your license history, we'll give instructions on how to take the broker's exam.
- If you've had an active license in another state in the previous 6 months, you'll only need to take the Washington State part of the exam.
- After you've passed the required portions of the exam, follow the instructions below to submit your application.
How to apply
- Login to apply. You'll need:
- Visa, MasterCard, or American Express credit or debit card to pay license fee.
- If needed, documents for legal background questions, ready to upload.
- We'll send you an email when your license is approved.
- If you had an active broker license, your managing broker license will automatically be associated to your current firm.
- If you had an inactive broker license, or if you didn't have a Washington broker license:
- Your license will be issued in inactive status so it is available to be added to a firm.
- Your license will be activated immediately when you accept an online request to join a firm.
Your managing broker's license will expire 2 years after it's issued.
Questions? Need help?