How to reinstate your license: Real estate brokers and managing brokers

You can reinstate your license if your license has been in canceled status for less than 2 years per WAC 308-124A-780. If your license expired more than 3 years ago, you must start again. Refer to How to get your license: Real estate brokers or How to get your license: Managing brokers.

Things to know

  • License expires every 2 years
  • You must submit reinstatements within 3 years of the date your license expired
  • Fingerprint based background check results expire every 6 years
    • The results on file must be current

Before you reinstate

  • Email realestate@dol.wa.gov to confirm you can reinstate and the amount you will owe. You will receive an email with written details.
  • Complete your continuing education requirements. You must complete it within 1 year of your application to reinstate.
  • Be ready to answer legal background questions and provide documents if needed.
  • If the fingerprint based background results on file aren’t current, submit your fingerprints:

What you'll need

  • A SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account to apply online.
  • Copies of your course completion certifications ready to upload.

How to reinstate

You can reinstate online or by mail.

Reinstate online

Reinstating online is the quickest method and can be issued the same day. You will be able to activate with a firm the same day.

Start reinstatement

Reinstate by mail

  • Expect a minimum of 21 days for your application to be processed.
  • Complete a Real Estate License Renewal form
    • Include a check or money order for the amount staff has given you in an email
    • Include a copy of the email with the amount to pay and mail to:
      Real Estate Licensing
      Department of Licensing
      PO Box 3856
      Seattle, WA 98124-3856

Continuing education requirements

Visit the course search for a list of approved continuing education courses.

Renewal type Required continuing education
Brokers or managing brokers You must complete course work within 1 year preceding the application for reinstatement:
  • Successful completion of 60 clock hours of approved real estate course work
    • 30 of the 60 clock hours must include the Real Estate Law course
  • Payment of all back renewal fees with penalty
  • Payment of reinstatement penalty fine of $100

Please email our office for your exact requirements and fee total to reinstate. Include your full name and previous license number in the email.

Questions? Need help?

Chatbot icon
Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website