Google™ Translate Limitations & Disclaimer

Steps to getting a Commercial Driver License

Drivers are no longer required to obtain a Skills Test Results form from a Driver Licensing Office. The process for skills test scheduling and training certificate submission has changed as of April 30, 2018.

Non-domicile changes effective February 13, 2018

We've implemented a temporary workaround for non-domiciled Commercial Driver License (CDL) holders that will need to renew their CDL between February – September 2018.

There have been changes for CDL drivers who aren't United States citizens. If you have a CDL and have an:

  • Unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD)
  • or
  • Unexpired foreign passport with an approved unexpired I-94 form

We'll issue you a non-domiciled CDL for 1 year.

If you have an unexpired Commercial License Permit (CLP) you can apply for a CDL if you meet all other requirements to hold a CDL. All documents must be approved and not expired at the time you’re issued your CDL.

Who can apply for a CDL

Any driver:

  • Over 18 years old with a valid WA driver license check your license status. To operate commercial vehicles from state to state (interstate) you must be at least 21 years old.
  • Who does not have a lifetime disqualification.
  • Who's CDL was surrendered, removed, suspended, revoked, or disqualified for 1 year or more and are now eligible to reinstate.
  • Who did not transfer their CDL from another state at the time they transferred to Washington.

How to apply

  1. Visit a driver licensing office location that offers knowledge testing (call to find out).
  2. Bring your:
    • Current license
    • Social Security number
    • Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency. See list of approved documents) for ID purposes. We're required to verify your status under Federal law 49 CFR 383.71 (www.ecfr.gov) and Washington State law (RCW 46.25.070. This requirement also applies to drivers who already have a CDL.
  3. Self-certify the type of operation you will be conducting. Medical documents may be required.
  4. Pass the Knowledge test for the type of vehicle you will be licensed to operate.
  5. Get a Commercial License Permit (CLP).

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website