UPDATE

Get answers to your questions about essential businesses.
More extensions for some expiring driver licenses.
Vehicle and boat licensing services may vary across the state.

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

CDL disqualifications: Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .04 or more

How long will my license be disqualified?

  • First incident: 1 year (3 years if the incident occurred while you were transporting hazardous materials.)
  • Second incident or more: For life

How do I re-qualify?

  • First incident:
    • If you have not already, you must show proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency (see list of approved documents).
    • Pass the Commercial Driver License (CDL) knowledge tests.
    • Obtain a CDL permit.
    • Take a skills (drive) test.
    • Provide certificate of training dated after January 2009 from a registered CDL training school, or from a registered employer. If providing training certificate from a registered employer, this must have a current date.
    • For a hazardous materials endorsement, you must have an eligible Transportation Security Administration hazmat clearance on record.
    • Pay a $35 re-qualification fee.
  • Second incident or more: You can't re-qualify from a lifetime disqualification.

Can I appeal the disqualification?

Yes, if your BAC was above a .08 the hearing will cover both your personal and commercial driver license. If your BAC was below a .08 the hearing will cover your commercial driver license.

Related laws

RCW 46.25.090(1)(b) and (2): Disqualification - Grounds for, period of - Records

Questions? Need help?

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website