Frequently asked questions: Driving records
What is a driving record?
It's a history of violations, convictions, collisions, and Departmental actions incurred by a driver over a period of time. It may not include the license original issue date. A copy of the record is referred to as either an Abstract of Driving Record (ADR) or driving record.
|Type of driving record||Who can get a copy||What the record includes|
Used to create and renew commercial, noncommercial motor vehicle insurance, and life insurance policies.
||3 year history of:
Used to determine if a driver should be employed.
|Alcohol and Drug Treatment
Used for referrals to drug and alcohol treatment facilities.
||A 5-year driving history|
*These records don't show violations and collisions for law enforcement officers, firefighters, tow trucks or Washington State Patrol officers that occurred while on duty, driving official vehicles.
How long will it take to get a copy of a driving record?
- Online through License eXpress: You can print a copy within 24 hours.
- By mail: Please allow 10–14 days.
Can employers or insurance companies tell anyone what's on my driving record?
No. Driving records are confidential and are provided only to those authorized by law. Insurance companies, employers, transit authorities, volunteer organizations, and school districts who get a copy of your driving record may not reveal your information to a third party.
Will my record show the original date my WA driver license was issued?
Only if your first license was issued after May 1, 1964. If it was issued before May 1, 1964, you may call us at 360.902.3900 (TTY: call 711) to request a status letter showing the original issue date.
|Type of information kept||How long kept|
|Convictions and violations—Most convictions, forfeitures of bail, or court findings stating an infraction was committed||5 years from conviction or adjudication date|
|Vehicular Assault and Vehicular Homicide convictions||Life|
|Failure to appear or respond to a traffic citation or notice of infraction (FTA)||Until the FTA is resolved, or 10 years from the date the court notifies us about it, whichever is earlier
(Note: The court may resubmit an unresolved FTA after the 10-year period. When the FTA is resolved, only the original ticket remains on the driving record.)
|Collisions—Shows involvement, not fault, number of vehicles involved, whether they were legally parked or moving, whether the vehicles were occupied at the time of the collision, and whether the collision resulted in any injury or fatality||
|Departmental actions, such as suspensions, revocations, or disqualifications||5 years from final release date. Major withdrawals for commercial operators remain on for life.|
What Washington State laws apply to driving records?
- RCW 46.52.130: Abstract of driving record—Access—Fees—Penalty
- RCW 10.05.060: Procedure upon approval of plan
- RCW 10.05.090: Procedure upon breach of treatment plan
- RCW 46.25.010(6): Definitions
- RCW 46.04.140: Definition of commercial vehicle
- RCW 46.01.260: Destruction of records by director
- Buy a copy of your driving record
- Purchase another person's driving record
- Learn how to reinstate your license