UPDATE

90-day extensions for some expiring driver licenses.
All driver licensing offices statewide are closed temporarily. Please go online.
Get guidance on business and landlord compliance with statewide orders.

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

Mopeds

What is a moped?

To qualify as a moped, a vehicle:

  • Must have 2–3 wheels.
  • Must have an electric or liquid fuel motor with a cylinder displacement of less than 50 cc, and no more than 2 brake horsepower.
  • Can't travel faster than 30 miles per hour.
  • and
  • Must meet all the federal standards for a motor-driven cycle.

Requirements

You don't need a motorcycle endorsement or auto insurance to ride a moped. However, to legally operate a moped in Washington:

  • You must have a valid driver license.
  • You must register the moped and display a valid license plate.
  • You and your passengers must wear USDOT-approved helmets.
  • You must wear eye protection if your moped doesn't have a windshield.
  • You can't ride the moped on a sidewalk, bicycle path, equestrian trail, hiking/recreational trail, or fully-controlled limited access highway.

Related laws

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website