How to register to vote in Washington
- Register to vote online at the Secretary of State website.
- Register to vote when completing a transaction at any driver licensing office.
- Print out and mail in this registration form.
- You can use the last 4 digits of your social security number (SSN) if you don't have a Washington State driver license or ID card.
- Residents who are 16 and 17 years old can opt to pre-register to vote when applying for a driver license or ID card.
You can register to vote if you are:
- A citizen of the United States.
- A resident of Washington State and have lived at your address for at least 30 days before the election.
- At least 18 years old when you vote.
- Not currently serving a sentence of total confinement under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections for a Washington felony conviction.
- Not disqualified from voting due to a court order.
- Not currently incarcerated for a federal or out-of-state felony conviction.
See RCW 46.20.155.
Moving within Washington? Update your voter registration
If you move to a new address in Washington State, you'll need to update your voter registration before you can vote.
- Update your voter registration while completing a transaction at any driver licensing office.
- Contact your county auditor by mail, email, or phone.