Our website is getting a new look! Coming Summer 2023 – stay tuned!

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

Replace your driver license while out of state

Things to know

You can't change the name on your license by mail. Washington law requires drivers who want to change the name on their license to apply for a new one at a driver licensing office. You can still request a replacement license by mail and it will show the name currently on your license.

If your driver license is lost or stolen while you're out of Washington State:

  • You can replace it by mail if:
    • Your license is in good standing (not suspended, revoked, surrendered, or canceled).
    • You won't be back in Washington within 30 days.
  • You can't replace it by mail if:
    • You have an enhanced driver license (EDL).
    • You have a commercial driver license (CDL).
    • Your license is suspended, revoked, surrendered, or canceled.
    • You don't have a valid Social Security number on file with us.

Your replacement license:

  • Expires on the same date as your lost or stolen license.
  • Includes your motorcycle endorsement, if applicable.
  • Will be marked as not valid for identification.
  • Will not have your picture or signature on it.

You may restore the photo and signature by visiting a driver licensing office.

How to replace your license by mail

  1. Send us all the following:
  2. Mail the completed form and fee to:
    Department of Licensing
    PO Box 9048
    Olympia, WA 98507-9048

What if I haven't received my driver license yet?

If you don't get it after 30 days, call us at 360.902.3900 (TTY: call 711).

Military personnel

To learn how to replace your driver license if you're serving in the military outside of Washington State, see Military personnel.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Call us: 360.902.3900 (TTY: Call 711)

Chatbot icon