UPDATE

Get answers to your questions about essential businesses.
More extensions for some expiring driver licenses.
Vehicle and boat licensing services may vary across the state.

If the information on this translated website is unclear, please contact us at 360.902.3900 for help in your language of choice.

Renew your tabs

Doing your taxes?
Tax season is here and Washington vehicle and boat owners can view their registration fees, taxes, and donations paid since January 2019.

We aren't currently offering pick-up in-office

Many vehicle licensing offices are temporarily closed to in-person service during the Coronavirus outbreak. If you recently renewed your tabs online and selected "pick up in office," please contact the vehicle licensing office you selected to arrange for mailing or pick-up of your tabs.

Your tab renewal options:

How can I estimate my fees?

When do I need to renew my tabs?

Tabs expire every year.

To see when they're due, look at your license plate for the expiration month and year. You can also check your License eXpress account – it'll show you the month, day, and year they expire. It will show the address and email addresses we have for your vehicles.

Do you want to get renewal reminders?

What might I need to do before or when I renew?

Donations and other options when you renew:

How long does it take to get my tabs?

  • By mail, within 5 business days. If you don't get them within:

If you don't get the tabs you purchased, contact a vehicle licensing location. We may be able to send a replacement, at no cost, if you meet these requirements:

  • We verify that we issued the tabs, but you haven't received them within 15-90 days.
  • We have your current mailing address.
  • Return the original tabs to any vehicle licensing office, if they're ever found.

Authorized representative

Registered owners may authorize a representative to purchase and pick up a vehicle or vessel registration and plates. The authorized representative must present a valid photo ID and:

  • A Power of Attorney
  • A written permission, such as a note or check containing the following information:
    • Name and signature of the registered owners, and
    • Plate number, VIN, registration number, or HIN

If the person purchasing/picking up has the same last name or address as your customer on their photo ID, written authorization is not necessary.

Public disclosure laws require proof of identity whenever personally identifiable information is provided.

Business authorization

A business owner or representative picking up registration documents for an online or mail in renewal must provide the office with a reasonable connection to that business. Examples include, but are not limited to:

  • Business card with photo ID
  • Signed letter on business letterhead
  • Attire with business logo
  • Phone call from business

Are you part of the military or uniformed services?

If you're stationed outside of Washington when your tabs expire, you may be able to get a new expiration date.

If your current tabs expired less than 12 months ago, we'll give you a new full year registration period. Apply for a new registration period through a vehicle licensing location:

  • By mail - Send all items below to an office of your choice:
    • Your tab renewal notice
    • Copy of your military orders
    • Check/money order payable to DOL

Can I deduct any of my fees from my federal taxes?

Regional Transit Authority (RTA) Motor Vehicle Excise Tax and Watercraft Excise Tax may be deductible. Check with your tax advisor.

Related information

Questions? Need help?

Washington Healthcare Finder
Good To Go!
Access Washington – official state government website