Commercial Driver License (CDL) disqualifications
When can a CDL be suspended, revoked, or disqualified?
- If your Washington driver license is suspended, revoked, canceled, or surrendered for any reason.
- For the following violations:
- Conviction in court for driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Deferred prosecution (DUI conviction)
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.04 or more
- Refusing to submit to a breath or blood test while driving any motor vehicle
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving a motor vehicle
- Using any motor vehicle in the commission of a felony
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified CDL
- Causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a commercial motor vehicle (including but not limited to vehicular homicide or assault)
- Committing 2 or more of the violations listed above, in separate incidents
- Testing positive on the Department of Transportation test for drugs or alcohol
- Driving a commercial vehicle while under an out-of-service order
- Committing railroad-crossing violations while operating a commercial motor vehicle
- Being reported as an imminent hazard by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
- Committing 2 or more serious traffic offenses within 3 years, in separate incidents
- Using any motor vehicle in the commission of a felony involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of a controlled substance, or possession with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance
What do I need to do if my CDL is suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified?
- Notify your employer:
- If your commercial driver license is suspended, revoked, or canceled; or if you're disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle. This must be completed before the end of the business day following the day of the notice.
- In writing, of all traffic convictions within 30 days of the conviction. This includes convictions related to your private automobile as well as a commercial vehicle.
- Notify the Department of Licensing in writing, of all out-of-state traffic convictions within 30 days of the conviction. Complete an Out-of-State Traffic Conviction Report for each conviction and send to:
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9030
Olympia, Washington 98507-9030
What happens if I have an out-of-state CDL?
If you have a CDL from a state other than Washington and lose your privilege to drive a commercial vehicle in Washington, you can't:
- Get a Washington CDL until you have re-qualified in this state.
- Drive a commercial vehicle in Washington, even with a license from another state.
We'll also notify your home state, and they may take action against your driver license.
Can I get a restricted driver license while my CDL is suspended?
You can't get an Occupational/Restricted License (ORL) to drive a commercial motor vehicle. However, you may apply for one to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle. For more information, see Restricted driver licenses.
Implied consent — Refusing to test
Any person who holds a CDL is deemed to have consented to any testing required by any state or jurisdiction. Driving a commercial motor vehicle implies consent. (See federal rule 49 CFR 383.72.)
If any level of alcohol is detected, law enforcement can place a commercial driver out-of-service for 24 hours. It's illegal to operate a commercial vehicle with any alcohol in your system.
Questions? Need help?
Call us: 360.902.3900 (TTY: Call 711)